A Letter to My Best Friend

Thank you for always being there. Whether it’s a 2:00AM conversation texting about my feelings or being down to grab lunch with me, you’re there. You’re the true definition of a good friend, and you show it by being there. I know I can count on you to have my back.

Thank you for showing me the positive side of life. Because sometimes I forget that things will always look up. But you never do. You always remind me that there are good things in this world and we can all have them.

Thank you for making me feel on top of the world. Whether you know it or not, you have always boosted my self-confidence. Being around you makes me feel like I’m good enough. The little compliments and the companionship you’ve given me have made me a stronger person on the inside.

Thank you for making me realize that I’m worth it. For reminding me that letting other people walk over me is not okay, and also for helping me to realize that people who complicate my life or make me unhappy are not worth keeping around. I deserve more than that.

Thank you for teaching me what a relationship should be. Subtly, and by example, you have taught me the qualities to look for in a relationship. You give me hope for the future.

Thank you for the daily reminder that not all people are terrible humans, liars, or cheaters. Just by being yourself, you have taught me that there are good, genuine people in this world, and those are the ones that deserve my attention.

Thank you for believing in me. Your little words of encouragement and high fives mean more to me than you will ever know. Having someone behind you that fully supports you is the greatest feeling in the world.

Thank you for being a great listener. It’s hard to know what to say sometimes, I know that. But sometimes, you don’t have to say anything. You let me vent. You let me talk it all out, and you just being willing to listen is so important to me.

Thank you for being fun. Truly fun people can be hard to find. I’ve never met someone who can have so much fun in so many different ways. I guess that’s just a reiteration of how positive and happy you always are. I love being around you. It’s a guaranteed great time.

Thank you for sharing your life with me. This is a true quality of a close friend. You can spend tons of time with one person, but if they don’t let you in and share their life with you, you’re not really all that close. For allowing me to be close to you, you have given me even more insight into what a beautiful person you are. And I’m so happy to have our bond.

Thank you for being dependable and loyal. At 12:00PM, you’re there on the dot. If I need you to print something for me, I know you’ve got me. If I were sick, I know you’d do anything you could to help me. And you’d even go out of your way to do it. True friend does not even begin to describe you.

Thank you for showing up when I needed you most. You don’t know it, but you saved me. Maybe I didn’t even know it at the time. But when I met you, my life turned around for the better, and looking back on it now, it was because of you.

So, thank you. Thank you for being the best friend I could have, in every way possible. Through all of the things mentioned, and so much more, you have shown me what true friendship is. I’m so grateful for what you have brought to my life, and the vital lessons you have taught me, whether intentionally taught or not. I feel blessed to know you, and I hope that everyone in their lifetime gets to have a best friend like you. You mean the world to me.

Love always,
Your best friend

